Just a little about me.

Hey there,

I’m DeeDee, the nerd that powers this blog.

Hello and welcome to pretty.black.&.nerdy.

I figured proper introductions were required, since we’re going to be such good friends after all.  I want to let you know all about me and all about the blog.

I have an About Me page that can tell you generally all about me but the back story is so much more fun.

So, let’s begin at the beginning.  I’m 25, from Arizona, daughter of an electrical engineer and an elementary school teacher.  My parents have 5 children, my older sister is 9 years older than me, then there’s one 3 years younger, and the twins, a boy and a girl, 10 years younger.  I’ve almost always been the oldest at home.

In my heart, I’m just a nerd girl.  I’ve gone to private schools all my life.  I went to an all-girls Catholic high school in Arizona and a small Baptist college in Alabama.  Now, I’m a law school student in Louisiana.  And, actually, to be honest, I love school, I have always loved school, I will probably die loving school.

In my off time, when I’m not reading, studying or TAing, I’m a craft addict, a knitting, sewing, needle-pointing, card-making, decoupaging, craft addict.  I have no regrets.  Not many regrets?  Nope, no regrets.

I guess I’ve always been doing paper crafts.  Right now I’m into decoupaging.  Before that I became obsessed with making cards.  Before that I made scrapbooks.  Before scrapbooks, I don’t know, do coloring books and crayons count?

I started sewing in the seventh grade when I begged my mama for months to buy me a sewing machine for Christmas, even though nobody in my family knows how to sew.  I am an entirely self-taught seamstress which is code for I make it all up as I go along. I’m not as good as I want to be but I’m getting better at it.

I have been knitting since high school.  I used to get Saturday detention in high school and I needed something to do for 8 hours on a Saturday so I bought a book at Wal-Mart and made it work.  Now, I’m kind of, pretty much, a professional knitter.  I can knit with my eyes closed, I can knit while I drive, I can knit in a movie theater while eating popcorn without missing anything.

And when I’m not doing any of that, then I get to be a fan girl.  I’m a really good fan girl.  I’ve been going to comic conventions with my siblings since high school, mostly Phoenix Comicon and Anime Weekend Atlanta.  We cosplay, all handmade by us, please read as me.

I love Lolita fashion, too.  I have a whole handmade wardrobe right now and probably forever because I love to make myself new things.  I actually have an indie Lolita brand, Princess Dee-Licious.  I design and hand make all kinds of Lolita items, one pieces, jumperskirts, blouses and hair accessories all available in my shop.

Did I mention I’m a planner girl.  I don’t know if you know what that means but trust me it’s awesome.  I have a custom-made planner and I design and create stickers for organizing and decorating.  I have another shop for planner goodies, Creative Blerd.  I sell handmade planner stickers for the Erin Condren Life Planner and the Happy Planner, along with some other stationary items.  I do so enjoy stationary.

I have vintage taste.  I love 50s styled clothes.  I spend entirely too much money at Doll Me Up, Inc., my personal favorite vintage inspired online boutique.  But any opportunity t o spend money, I’m not choosy.  And, I am obsessed with makeup.  Too Faced is my prestige brand of choice, obviously with all that pink and glitter.  Most of my collection is from the beauty supply store though, because I love those places.

Huh, well if you’ve made it to this point you know everything there is to know about what this blog is about.  I keep saying there is something for everyone because there really is.  If you are a crafter, if you’re a nerd, if you’re a fashion & beauty junkie, if you’re a planner addict, I  can probably help you out.

Well, I’m all done for now.  I really need to get to work on, I don’t know, something productive.  I’ll be in touch tomorrow.

DeeDee

One thought on “Just a little about me.

Comments are closed.