A.W. Mumford Stadium at Southern University Baton Rouge

Back on Track

I cannot begin to explain to you how tired I am right now.  I’ve started running again and I forgot how hard it is.

In my younger days I ran USA Track and Field.  Then I ran for my high school.  I stopped competing when I had my spinal fusion surgery, even though I made the track team at my college, I never competed for them.

So I haven’t run, or trained to run, since 2009, maybe 2010.

Let me just say, when you’ve been out of it, you lose it.

I was doing my usual warm-up, the one I used to do with my club team when I first star and out of breath, and miserable.  was sweating, and out of breath, and miserable.  But it was the best workout I have had in a long time.

So, in case you’re wondering, I did half of a Texas mile which is when you run the curves of the track and the, when you get to the entrance to the stadium seating you exit the track, run up the stadium steps to the top, jog across the top to the end, jog down the steps and back to the track to repeat on the other side.

Full disclosure, I jogged when I was on the track, and walked when I was on the stadium steps.  What can I say, I’m really out of shape.

My goal is to be able to run the whole Texas mile by the end of the month.  A full mile is 4 laps around a standard track, like the ones at high schools and colleges.  So my full Texas mile will be four laps, the way that I described.  I’m only running at the track Tuesdays and Thursdays, but I go to the gym Monday and Wednesday and Friday is a stretch day.

I’m not so much worried about losing weight, as much as getting in shape.  I would love to lose a little weight, especially in my tummy, but I really just want to be healthy.

Anybody else into running?  Got any tips for me? If you’re on a fitness journey, like I am, or you’re trying to lose wight, let me know.  I would love to connect with others, maybe get some accountability partners.

Ok, I’m off to ice my knees.  Talk to you later.

DeeDee

