Dream Vacation

Now that school is back in session, I’m missing vacation more than ever.

I squandered most of my break at the law school.  I did pro bono work with high school students, teaching them about law and helping them do a mock trial.  And I took two summer school classes, at the same time, because I’ma humongous nerd, and I like it like that. Then, when that was over, I was a teaching assistant for incoming students during their summer pre-law classes.

And that was 90% of my summer, from two weeks after spring semester ended to two weeks before the fall semester started.

Needless to say, I needed a rest before I got down to business again.

Enter The Boyfriend, making himself useful.  He’s actually from the U.S. Virgin Islands, St. Thomas to be exact, and he had just moved back there after living in Atlanta.  He thought it would be a great idea for me to come visit him and his family on the island, and I totally agreed, of course.

I left the week after my Roommate’s birthday.  It was the first time we we’re together for her birthday and it was kind of a big deal.
Onesie

I had a super late flight, and I had to drive to the airport, so I started my trip in my super comfortable Rue21 animal ear onesie.

Planning in the Airport

 

While I was curled up at the airport waiting for my flight, I got some last minute planning done in my Recollection Organize It! binder.

 

 

Boarding Gate

Then it was time to fly.

In-FlightIn-Flight Outfit Change

When I got on the plane, I was still wearing my onesie.

 

 

And when I got off the plane, I had on my swimsuit and cover-up.

View out my WindowView from the PlaneView from my Window
St. Thomas is the gateway island for the U.S. Virgin Island.  I think that is because it is the only island with the public airport and all of the cruise ships dock there when they come in.

My first day in town, we went to Lindbergh Bay Beach.

Lindbergh Bay Beach is right outside the airport, not even five minutes away.  And the Boyfriend’s mama has a restaurant just off the beach.

Jackie's Restaurant

And we saw SUICIDE SQUAD!

Suicide Squad movie posterSuicide Squad movie poster

I couldn’t believe the view from the overlook we drove by on the way to and from the house everyday.

Ocean View from the Look OutOcean View from the LookoutOcean View from the Lookout

Over the weekend, we went to a family barbecue at Magen’s Bay.The View from Hope'sView from Hope's

The Boyfriend took me to Water Island, just the two of us.  It was so fun, and quiet, and calm and pretty much perfect.  I’m such a snuggly monster and I got to have the Boyfriend all too myself.  There were a lot of people at the house, his mom and dad, a cousin, a nephew and three family friends.

We had to take a ferry to Water Island, and did some Pokemon hunting on Pokemon Go.Riding the Ferry to Water IslandRiding the Ferry to Water Island

Before I knew it, I was back on the tarmac, flying home.20160819_155804

Needless to say, vacation was amazing.  Now that I’m home, I can’t wait to go back.  Next time I go, I plan to get out more, and take more pictures.  I was such a homebody during vacation, waking up late and going to bed early, and only going outside when I had to.

If you’ve never been to St. Thomas, or the U.S. Virgin Islands, you should look into taking a trip there.  It’s a United States territory so U.S. citizens don’t even need a passport.  And it’s just plain beautiful and fun.

Thank you for the trip Boyfriend.

Overlooking the Lookout

DeeDee

