Bedroom Rug Knitting at the Tea House

Knitted Bedroom Rug

I don’t know if you were aware, but I have been knitting for as long as I’ve had hands.  Literally, I came out of the womb, with my  swaddling already knit.

Ok, I may be exaggerating slightly, but only a little bit!

I didn’t actually start knitting until high school, but at this point it feels like forever.  It’s been 7 years, I could be common law married in some states in that time.

But I digress.  Onward to the purpose of this post, to tell you about my current knitting project.

Bedroom Rug knitted with Big Twist yarn in Blush Pink and Cream

I’m making a flat circle rug for my bedroom.

Bedroom Rug right side

I’m making the flat circle based on a tutorial I found forever ago on Alyoops!

I like her so much I follow her blog actually.

Anyway, the pattern is really nice and simple, all that it requires is seven increases every other row a certain number of stitches apart.  Like, the first time increasing, increase by knitting in the front and back of one stitch or every other stitch and on the next row knit every stitch; the second time increasing, knit in the front and back of one stitch every 2 stitches then knit the next row; the third time increasing, increase by knitting in the front and back of one stitch every 3 stitches, then knit the whole next row and so on until the circle is complete.

I might not be explaining that clearly enough.  You should just just check Alyoops! post.

Moving on!

Like I said, I found this tutorial forever ago, on Pinterest, and I’ve never had a good project for it.

But, now I do!

Big Twist yarn in Blush Pink and Cream

 

The yarn I’m using is Big Twist Value in Blush Pink and Cream.  It’s 100% acrylic, worsted weight.  Each skein is 6oz, 371 yards.  It is something cheap I had around the house.  My Yin won’t let me buy anything new until I work through what I have in the craft room right now.  These have been in the craft room since before I moved last year so it was certainly time to use them up.

 

Bedroom Rug right side active knitting

 

Bedroom Rug wrong side

 

I’m working on decorations for my bedroom and this rug will be perfect.  This pink and light brown are gonna go great with the shabby chic French cottage theme I’m trying to make happen.

 

Bedroom Rug stitch markers

 

I started this on size 10 double point needles but it over ran them pretty quickly.  I moved it to size 10 circulars not too long ago.  I don’t know what size I’m trying to make it so I’m going to keep  on knitting until the rug over runs the circulars too, then I’ll call it done.

Bedroom Rug beginning marker

What ever yarn I have left over then will go to some smaller decorative rugs for the vanity and in front of the mirror.

If you want to follow this project, I’m fairly active on Ravelry.

 

DeeDee

