Weekly Meal Prep

One of the things I have lost since starting law school is free time to cook.  It is so sad how often I resort to fast food, or microwavable meals just because there aren’t enough hours in the day for me to defrost, thaw, season, cook and eat a meal.

My saving grace has been prepping my weekly meals ahead of time.

I’m not gonna lie, I’m not very good at this, I fail more weeks that I succeed, but I aspire to greatness, so I keep trying.  I know if I get around to meal prepping for the week then my week is going to go well , if I don’t, I usually end up stressing for seven days.

I have a few go-to meals that I pull out every week, and my personal favorite is Overnight Oatmeal.

Overnight Oatmeal layers: chia, oats, almond milk, Greek yogurt

Overnight Oatmeal: 1 tablespoon chia, 3/4 cup oats, 2 splashes almond milk, 2 ice cream scoops Greek yogurt

It may not look like much, but trust me, it’s delicious.

Overnight Oatmeal Cups

It was actually my mama, over Christmas break last year, that put me on to Overnight Oatmeal, even before I found it on Pinterest.  I told her I wanted to eat healthier and this was her suggestion.

Now I eat it four to five days a week, on all my school days.

Overnight Oatmeal Cups

I love Overnight Oatmeal because it’s so simple to prepare and ready when I want it.

Overnight Oatmeal Ingredients

I make all of my Overnight Oatmeal Sunday night.  I use 3/4 cup of oats, 1 tablespoon of Chia, 2 ice cream scoops of vanilla Greek yogurt, and 2 “splashes” of vanilla almond milk.  Mix it all together in a food container bowl with a lid, and the refrigerator, at least overnight.

Overnight Oatmeal stack in the refrigerator

Then, you have travel-sized breakfast perfect for on-the-go.

I hear you can make flavored Overnight Oatmeal by adding fruit, or different spreads, like Nutella or peanut butter, I haven’t tried it yet, but I will.

How do you do your Overnight Oatmeal, if you do?  If not, what are your go-to on-the-go meals?  Let me know!

DeeDee

