Post Morteum: Recollections Hardbound Planner

Hey Sweeties,

I’m sure a review of a discontinued planner 10 months after that planner ended seems super topical and not at all confusing and useless.

Right?

Well, yes, this is arguably very late and very pointless if it was a planner shopping guide but it itsn’t. I have been doing a lot of critical thinking about planners, about the elements that I like in a planner and the ones that I dislike, the things that make planners useful and practical but also fun and engaging.

This has informed a lot of the decision I’ve made in the line of planners that I am designing to see through my brand Creative Blerd Paperie. (Shameless plug is shameless.)

I feel like I have been doing this planner thing long enough to understand what makes a good planner but I wanted to talk about that a little bit.

I think the planner that I used last year, the Recollections hardbound planner, is a pretty good case study for a planner dissection that will illustrate my opinions and since this planner isn’t for sale any more, I’m not really “selling” anything to you, I’m just thinking out loud.

So, let’s start with my review.

The Recollections hardbound planner is my favorite planner that I have ever used in my life!

That is all.

Did you want a little more? Let me explain.

I know there are a lot of planner people who value removeable pages in their planning system which pushes them to disk or ring bound planners and I can understand that compulsion. I love to tear out pages when I make a mistake or to be able to add things as I need them. It does make the planner feel more customizable. But, I am spoiled by choice. I am one of those people for whom too many options becomes overwhelming. The beauty of the hardbound planner, like a spiral bound planner, is the definitive nature of the construction. I know what can be in my planner because it came to me already in the planner. Sometimes there’s a pocket that allows me a modicum of freedom, but for the most part I have a controlled environment to organize my life with in. What’s not to love?

You might question the hardbound planner though, if you’re a sticker planner, because the stickers are without question gonna bulk that book up, and it will, and your cover isn’t flexible so it is not going to contour to the curves the planner is going to get. But, it is a sturdy, hard cover on each side of the planner, protecting those warping inner pages. I, personally feel safer putting a hardbound planner in my backpack or purse, carrying it with me to preschool drop off or playground playdates. The laminated cardstock cover of most spiral bound and disk bound planner do not give me the same kind of security, especially not the removeable ones. I know how dangerous the bag that I carry is, I want my planner to be able to withstand the onslaught.

That being said, a ring bound planner, with a binder and a closure, is probably the most hearty option, but I just love a notebook. I’m a product of the ’90s school supply propaganda. Don’t @ me.

A planner laying flat is another of those necessary planner elements, at least to me. I like to see an entire spread all at once, be that a month or a week so laying flat is more important to me than folding in half. Many of those who prefer spiral bound planners count folding fully in half as a major selling point. For me, it’s cool but not a necessity. The ability to lay your planner out on the table and have access to everything all at once is the true test, if you ask me.

Let’s talk price. I’m sure, if you are in the planner community, you have seen the wide range of prices on planners, from high end to low. While I remain tempted by the high end planners, I am not, and probably will not ever feel comfortable making that leap. While there are $64 spiral bound planners selling, I could not justify that purchase when the local branch of a national craft store chain is selling a comparable product for a third of the price and I can go pick it up today. And. don’t let it be Black Friday, because I’m getting that thing for 40% off, and I’m buying 5!

What more can I say?

The Recollections hardbound planner checked all of the boxes.

It was the right size, 7″x9″ about the same as most classis spiral planners.

It was the ideal amount of “customizable”.

It was built the way that I live.

The price was PERFECT.

And it got discontinued.

Story of my life. Every time I find something to love it gets ripped away from me.

But, silver linings, the loss of the beloved Recollections planners begot the Life, Well Documented collection. I’ve taken all of things that I gleaned from my five or six years as a planner girl and worked them into my planner designs.

First up is the colorful Document It planner, a weekly vertical layout with a signature color scheme.

It will fit traditional planner stickers, including ones sold by online sticker shops like Creative Blerd Paperie.

For now, it’s a spiral bound planner, because I know the market for hardbound planners is small. Though, I will be getting one for myself.

I really wanted to talk about the Recollections hardbound planner before I retired mine, once and for all. I loved this planner, it was everything I wanted and I feel like I didn’t get enough time with it. I wish the entire line hadn’t been discontinued, but what can you do?

Hopefully what I am creating can be a worthy successor. And hopefully this is a worthy send off for what never got to be.

If you are interested in the Life, Well Documented planners that I am offering, check out my shop Creative Blerd Paperie or join the Pink Bow mailing list to be kept informed.

If you have a planner preference, a planner question, a planner comment, or you want to bemoan the loss of your favorite planner style let me know.

DeeDee